First Day

Today was the first day of classes, and I’m feeling pretty good. My classes seem somewhat lively, though I have close to 100 brand new names to (try to) learn.

It’s going to be a busy couple of weeks, what with the semester starting up and a concert right around the corner. Once that’s over, though, I’m looking forward to settling into my new routine.

I was approached today by my department chair and asked if I would mind picking up another section of Calculus 1, giving me a 4 credit overload. I’ve been asked to do overloads in the past, and I always say no. However, I’ve sometimes felt guilty about this, since I know that people only get asked to do overloads when the department is in a bind. I don’t want to be known as the person who never helps out, but at the same time, I really don’t like doing them. I don’t really need the money, and this would greatly increase my stress during the Spring, which is usually the semester when I get to relieve some stress and work on side projects.

So I tentatively agreed to do the overload, but after thinking about it for a while, decided to try to get out of it. Eventually the chair found someone else to do it, but I do still feel a bit guilty. I offered to absorb some of the extra students into my existing section (even though that would mean more grading for no extra pay), but the chair felt that would send a bad message to the administration. I guess there’s no way to avoid being known as the guy who never wants to do overloads, since that’s 100% accurate.

Leave a Reply

